little sanctuaries

RainyCUAnd still, I’m painting these tiny monsters. I wouldn’t mind pretending I don’t know why, not to create any mystery, but because I’d really like to not know why.

Unfortunately, it’s clear. You know the concept of the objective correlative? No?  No, of course you don’t, because you don’t need to. Not sure anyone does. I used to hold it close and turn it over and marvel at its possibilities, but probably only because TS Eliot invented it and it’s kind of fun to say.  It’s useless at a cocktail party (a cocktail party being my standard test). If someone brought it up while sitting around a fire pit on aVikingCU starry night at the beach, I’d say: please. Stop. Talking.

If we were plowing our way across the Texas panhandle on a cross country road trip  ..well, that might be a good place to chat about it. The Texas panhandle can accommodate a lot of filler.

It means this: that – (yay for the internet. Give me one second while I paste what I copied.): the artistic and literary technique of representing or evoking a particular emotion by means of symbols that objectify that emotion and are associated with it.

Those are a lot of fancy words that explain to me what I’m doing with my little guys. I didn’t need them, though.

I know that in the middle of hostilities between US political camps, I want to be in place where something else prevails and if I have to paint it? I will.

 

2 thoughts on “little sanctuaries

Leave a Reply

