Monster Craftsmanship

I’ve never done crafts so I don’t know for an absolute fact, but I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be good at it. Them. One, I’m not meticulous. I’m not even patient. Compared to people who are really patient, I mean. Two, I like mistakes way more than I probably should. And three? Me? And glue? We are not friends.

FullSizeRender (38)And yet, I still decided to make prints of my monster blocks, which means making prints and affixing them to blocks. It sounds so simple, doesn’t it? The originals are enchanted little things but the little part makes them difficult to paint and difficult to paint translates into not as inexpensive as I imagined them.

Prints, though. THOSE could be affordable for all sorts of people.

Plotting the process was fun. What’s not to like about solving stuff in theory? Ahh, but that’s in theory. In real life, all the plotting (which was significant) means what we in the trade like to call shit.  Sigh.

At least three things were really, really hard. And a couple of things went really, really wrong.

But then I solved those. I just kept buying different stuff until it all worked out.  And now, the little monster prints on blocks are in production.

I am not, however, going to be a crafter any time soon.

4 thoughts on “Monster Craftsmanship

  1. I feel as though I’ve stumbled into a wonderful new boutique that’s always been down the street from me and I just never knew about it. It’s peaceful and serene, colorful and calm, and filled with these really cozy chairs that you just keep sinking down into. I think I’m going to be spending a lot of time here.

Leave a Reply

