Tea Time in the Shadows

I finished this shadowbox last week. My insides squealed when a friend on Instagram described it using the word chiaroscuro. Mi piace chiaroscuro!

FullSizeRender (20)I can’t even remember how long it’s been a treasured idea to me – the shadows and shade of gray. (Oh hell, no, I’m not letting any book title take over the power of grayscale. No, no, no. Not happening.)  Thoughts and secrets and dreams belonged to the shadows.  Gray is full of whispers and stories that will never be told.

There’s a lot that’s … um … less than virtuous that hides in the shadow, but that’s what makes a human being, a human experience.

I’d be so happy to own this way of seeing and being. I don’t. But if it showed up one day, fully operational, I’d be very happy.  I might even clean up for it.

As it is, it takes a lot of work to get there. I’m successful just often enough to know it’s worth working for the next time.

Leave a Reply

